Ulysses and the mermaids
Ulysses and the mermaids
Logo

Charming Hotel

where tailor-made is not a luxury

Djerba Lotophages island

Happy who, like Ulysses, had a great trip

William Etty(1787-1849) [Public domain], (Ulysses and the mermaids). via Wikimedia Commons

The visitor who approaches the island of Djerba is struck by its resemblance to Polynesia. ust arrived, he is invaded by a feeling of sweetness and serenity. Do not forget, during his stopover in Djerba, the island of Lotophages, Ulysses almost gave up his wandering.

On February 17th 2012, the Tunisian government proposes Djerba for a future classification on the UNESCO world heritage list.

Support Djerba's candidacy for inscription on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

Content subject to license CC-BY-SA. Source : Article Djerba from Wikipédia (authors)

Djerba cultural and tourist map

Map of Djerba

History of Djerba

Djerba was well known during Antiquity, since the hero of Homer, Ulysses, stopped there. It was Carthaginian, then Roman. Two Roman emperors were born there. The island keeps vestiges from the Roman era : Meninx, near El Kantara, and the 6 km Roman road, which still connects the island to the mainland.

Djerba geographical data

With 25 km long and 22 km wide, Djerba has an area of ​​514 km² and has 125 km of coastline, its 1/10 of the Tunisian coast. Flat earth and very low altitude, it has no salient relief. The climate, under the moderating influence of the sea, is very mild.

Except for the capital, Houmt Souk, which is a small town which has kept its charm of yesteryear, agglomerations are only small villages : Midoun, Mahboubine, Guellala, Ajim… Habitat is dispersed : in the middle of the Menzel, a small farm bounded by a tabia, a levee surmounted by a cactus hedge, rises the house, called houch.

Also human concentrations are rare. The few agglomerations take, therefore, a particular relief and acquire a clearly marked personality.

Main cities and towns of Djerba

Souk Errbaa at Houmt Souk Djerba

Inhabitants:42 992 in 2014. Market days: Monday and Thursday. We find there:

Borj El Ghazi Mustapha.

Churches.

Djerba traditional heritage museum.

The port of Houmt Souk.

The marina of Djerba.

Citizen59[Public domain]
Fantasia à Midoun Djerba

Inhabitants:39 138 in 2014. Market day: Friday.

Jaume Ollé [CC BY]
Port Ajim Djerba

Inhabitants:15 114 in 2014. We find there:

The port of Ajim.

The borj of Ajim.

Vidéo YouTube 6.39min: Arrival in Djerba by ferry.

Jaume Ollé [CC BY]
Erriadh Djerbahood Djerba

Inhabitants:14 426 in 2014. Market day: Sunday. We find there:

Djerbahood.

The synagogue of La Ghriba.

Rani777- Baha-Eddine MKD [CC BY-SA]
Atelier de poterie à Guellala Djerba

Inhabitants:9 180 in 2014. We find there:

Guellala museum.

Vidéo YouTube 7.30min: Pottery at Guellela Djerba.

Bsghaier [CC BY-SA]
El Mey Djerba

Inhabitants:11 511 in 2014. Market day: Saturday

DrFO.Jr.Tn [CC BY]
Mellita: Aéroport Djerba-Zarzis

Inhabitants:12 039 in 2014. We find there:

Djerba-Zarzis Airport.

Bbhedia [CC BY-SA]
Mosquee sous-terraine de Sedouikech Djerba

Inhabitants:7 887 in 2014. Market day: Tuesday

Rais67 [Public domain]
Agaves au bord de piste à Mezraya Djerba

Inhabitants:6 447 in 2014.

Bilel Hawari [CC BY-SA]
Figues de barbarie à Djerba
Menzel

Djerba lighthouses and Borjs

Borj El Ghazi Mustapha

Borj El Kebir is built around 1392 on the ruins of the ancient Roman city of Girba (current Houmt Souk), the remains of which are re-used in the construction of the structure, following the expulsion of Alphonse's Vth soldiers of Aragon and according to the orders of the Hafsid sultan of Tunis to house his garrison. Around 1450, it underwent extensions. There is nearby

The port of Houmt Souk.

The marina of Djerba.

Djerba skull tower

In 1560 Dragut besieged the Iberian army, assisted by the natives and a fleet from Istanbul. The siege ended in a great defeat for the Spanish army, thousands of them lost their lives there. Carried away by its great triumph Dragut even built a conical tower 40 m at the base and ten meters high. It was crammed full of skulls and other macabre bones taken from thousands of soldiers. This skull tower survived until 1848, date on which it was razed and replaced by the obelisk symbolizing it. There is nearby:

Borj El Ghazi Mustapha.

The port of Houmt Souk.

The marina of Djerba.

Drawn by T. Allom, engraved by E. Benjamin [Public domain]
Taguermess Djerba lighthouse

This lighthouse, one of the symbols of Djerba, was built at the end of the XIXth century under the order of the bey. Built on a 20 meters hill in the northeast of the island, this 75-meter lighthouse is characterized by its colors (white and red) of the Tunisian flag. With a range exceeding 50 kilometers, this « phnar de Taguermess » as the Djerbians call it, is the first bright sign that sailors from the east and heading for the Maghreb coasts observed. There is nearby:

Djerba Explore.

Lalla Hadria museum.

Citizen59 [CC BY]
Borj Kastil Djerba

Built in the XIIIth century by Roger Lorie, Admiral of the north of Sicily. This fort is located in the southern part of the island at the end of the peninsula Bine El Ouediane.

Video YouTube 6.38min.

Video vimeo 5.21min.

El Golli Mohamed [CC BY-SA]
Borj Jilij Djerba

It is the first lighthouse on the island, 12km from the town of Mellita, it was built in the XVIth century on the traces of an old Spanish fort « the Valgarnera tower ». The lighting system of this lighthouse was based on olive oil. This lighthouse was installed to facilitate maritime navigation as in all the islands of the Mediterranean, to help fishermen at night, when the sky is overcast, to find their way and to monitor the island against enemy invasions. At the east of this lighthouse, a fort was built by Ali Bacha Bey in 1745 and completed by Hamouda Bey in 1795.

Lighthouse of Aghir Djerba

Located east of the Roman road. There is nearby:

Meninx archaeological site.

Borj El Kastil Djerba.

Kuarigama [CC BY-SA]
Borj Ajim Djerba

The Borj Ajim is located in the southwestern tip of the island. On the road connecting the port to the city of Ajim. On the right side of this road we can notice a fort whose walls have a square shape and do not exceed 6 meters high. This fort is also called «Borj el mersa» (fort of the port). This fort was used to defend and protect both the main entrance to the island through the Ajim Canal.

Borj El Agreb Djerba

Located in the southern tip of the island between Ras Tarbila and El Kantara (The romain road). With a circular shape, it is surrounded by the sea. Built by Dragut in the XVIth century. It is known as the scorpion fort following a legend which tells that a prince who had lost all his children because of scorpion stings, led his last son to this isolated fort. But one day the child received a bunch of grapes in which a scorpion was hiding, which caused the death of this child. Hence the name of this fort in Borj El Agreb (borj of scorpio).

Other monuments and sites of Djerba

Bourgou Djerba

Henchir Bourgou is a Tunisian archaeological site located 2.5 kilometers from the city of Midoun, on the island of Djerba. Measuring approximately 700 meters in radius, its occupation dates back to the IVth century BC.

Video YouTube 1.39min.

Rais67 [CC BY-SA]
Chaussée Romaine Djerba

The island is connected on the south side to the mainland by a bridge 7 kilometers long and about 10 meters wide. The latter dates back to Roman Antiquity, even to the Punic era. The bridge is then submerged by the sea and then cut around 1551, during the conflicts between Dragut and the Spanish, before being finally rebuilt during the second world war. There is nearby:

A l'est: Meninx archaeological site.

A l'est: Borj El Kastil Djerba.

A l'ouest: Borj El Agreb Djerba.

Big [CC BY-SA]
Ben Ayed Palace

Built in the XVIIIth century by Caid Hamida Ben Ayed, a wealthy politician and financial at the time of the Husseinite Beys. Ben Ayed Castle is located in Sedghiane, once the capital of the island of Djerba. Unfortunately the castle is on the way to becoming a ruin.

Video YouTube 2.30min.

Ness cheikhali [CC BY-SA]
Djerbian Menzel

A Menzel (arabic:« residence »), is a typical type of accommodation in Djerba. It consists of an agricultural plot planted with palm trees, olive trees, fruit trees, sorghum, cereals or vegetable crops. The Menzel is equipped with one or more wells or tanks intended for the irrigation of fields.

One or more housing units, the houch, are organized around a central patio and include rooms covered with flat or vaulted domed roofs. It can include an attic, a stable, a threshing floor (errayah), a weaving workshop and an oil mill.

The Menzel is also protected by hedges (tabia) made up of agave, aloe or prickly pear plantations. A model is exhibited at:

Djerba traditional heritage museum.

Les HOUCHS de DJERBA: Video YouTube 11.39min.

Fondouk at Houmt Souk

The Italian etymology of the term « fondacco » denotes a kind of construction characteristic of Mediterranean and Middle Eastern cities. It is synonymous with the Egyptian word « oukala » signifying an establishment intended to receive traders accompanied by their goods and their cattle. Those of Houmt Souk pass for urban fondouks who started to swarm around the Mediterranean towards the end of the XVIth century. Christian, Jewish and Muslim traders gather there to stock up on salt, fruit, oil, pottery, and especially woollens. The warehouses and the upstairs bedrooms were mainly shaded by arcaded galleries, embracing a spacious patio on all sides. There is an underground tank (for receiving rainwater) and a well (for laundry and toilets).In Djerba there were formerly 25 fondouks.

Fondouk Jomni.

Bsghaier [CC BY-SA]
Traditional weaving workshop in Djerba
Underground oil mill in Djerba

Djerba videos

Djerba candidate for UNESCO

To see also on our website

Kholkhal and Rihanna

Djerba museums

Sirene Ulysse

Places to visi in Djerbat

Port d'Ajim

Practical informations

Do not hesitate to join us

femme-reservation

BOOKING

femme-contact

CONTACT US

Ulysse et les sirènes
Ulysse et les sirènes
Logo

Hôtel de charme

où le sur-mesure n'est pas un luxe

Français English

Djerba l'île des Lotophages

Heureux qui comme Ulysse, a fait un beau voyage

William Etty(1787-1849) [Public domain], (Ulysse et les sirènes). via Wikimedia Commons

Le visiteur qui s'approche de l'île de Djerba est saisi par sa ressemblance à la Polynésie. A peine débarqué, il est envahi par un sentiment de douceur et de sérénité. Ne l'oublions pas, lors de son escale à Djerba, l'île des Lotophages, Ulysse faillit renoncer à son errance.

Le 17 février 2012, le gouvernement Tunisien propose Djerba pour un futur classement sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l'Unesco.

Soutenir la Candidature de Djerba à l’inscription sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.

Contenu soumis à la licence CC-BY-SA. Source : Article Djerba de Wikipédia en français (auteurs)

Carte culturelle et touristique de Djerba

Carte de Djerba

Historique de Djerba

Djerba était bien connue pendant l'Antiquité, puisque le héros de Homère, Ulysse, y fit escale. Elle a été carthaginoise, puis romaine. Deux empereurs romains y sont nés. L'île garde des vestiges de l'époque romaine : Meninx, près d'El Kantara, et la chaussée romaine de 6 km, qui relie toujours l'île au continent.

Données géographiques de Djerba

Longue de 25 km et large de 22, Djerba a une superficie de 514 km² et possède 125 km de côtes, soit 1/10 du littoral tunisien. Terre plane et de très faible altitude, elle n'a pas de relief saillant. Le climat, sous l'influence modératrice de la mer, est très doux.

Excepté le chef-lieu, Houmt Souk, qui est une petite ville qui a gardé son charme d'antan, les agglomérations ne sont que de petits villages : Midoun, Mahboubine, Guellala, Ajim… L'habitat est dispersé : au milieu du Menzel, petite exploitation délimitée par une, tabia, levée de terre surmontée d'une haie de cactus, s'élève l'habitation, appelée houch.

Aussi les concentrations humaines sont elles rares. Les quelques agglomérations prennent, de ce fait, un relief particulier et acquièrent une personnalité nettement marquée.

Principales villes et villages de Djerba

Souk Errbaa à Houmt Souk Djerba

Habitants:42 992 en 2014. Jours du marché: Lundi et Jeudi. On y trouve:

Borj El Ghazi Mustapha.

Les églises.

Le musée du patrimoine traditionnel de Djerba.

Le port d'Houmt Souk.

La marina de Djerba.

Citizen59[Public domain]
Fantasia à Midoun Djerba

Habitants:39 138 en 2014. Jour du marché: Vendredi.

Jaume Ollé [CC BY]
Port Ajim Djerba

Habitants:15 114 en 2014. On y trouve:

Le port Ajim Djerba.

Le borj Ajim Djerba.

Vidéo YouTube 6.39min: Arrivée à Djerba par le bac.

Jaume Ollé [CC BY]
Erriadh Djerbahood Djerba

Habitants:14 426 en 2014. Jour du marché: Dimanche. On y trouve:

Djerbahood.

Synagogue de la Ghriba.

Rani777- Baha-Eddine MKD [CC BY-SA]
Atelier de poterie à Guellala Djerba

Habitants:9 180 en 2014. On y trouve:

Musée du patrimoine de Guellala.

Vidéo YouTube 7.30min: Poterie à Guellela Djerba.

Bsghaier [CC BY-SA]
El Mey Djerba

Habitants:11 511 en 2014. Jour du marché: Samedi

DrFO.Jr.Tn [CC BY]
Mellita: Aéroport Djerba-Zarzis

Habitants:12 039 en 2014. On y trouve:

Aéroport Djerba-Zarzis.

Bbhedia [CC BY-SA]
Mosquee sous-terraine de Sedouikech Djerba

Habitants:7 887 en 2014. Jour du marché: Mardi

Rais67 [Public domain]
Agaves au bord de piste à Mezraya Djerba

Habitants:6 447 en 2014.

Bilel Hawari [CC BY-SA]
Figues de barbarie à Djerba
Menzel

Les phares et les forts de Djerba

Borj El Ghazi Mustapha

Le Borj El Kebir est bâti vers 1392 sur les ruines de l'ancienne ville romaine de Girba (actuelle Houmt Souk), dont les vestiges sont réemployés dans la construction de l’ouvrage, à la suite de l'expulsion des soldats d'Alphonse V d'Aragon et selon les ordres du sultan hafside de Tunis pour abriter sa garnison. Vers 1450, il subit des extensions.

Le port d'Houmt Souk..

La marina de Djerba.

Tour des crânes Djerba

En 1560 Dragut assiégea l’armée ibérique, aidé d’une assistance des indigènes et d’une flotte en provenance d’Istanbul. Le siège se solda par une grande défaite de l’armée espagnole, des milliers d’entre eux y ont laissé leurs vie. Emporté par sa grande triomphe Dragut a même bâtit une tour conique de 40 m à la base et haute de dix mètres. Elle était bourrée à craquer de crânes et autres ossements macabres prélevés sur des milliers de soldats. Cette tour des crânes a survécu jusqu’en 1848, date à laquelle elle fut rasée et remplacée par l'obélisque le symbolisant. On y trouve à proximité:

Borj El Ghazi Mustapha.

Le port d'Houmt Souk..

La marina de Djerba.

Drawn by T. Allom, engraved by E. Benjamin [Public domain]
Phare Taguerness Djerba

Ce phare, l’un des symboles de Djerba, fut construit à la fin du XIXe siècle sous l’ordre du bey. Bâtit sur une colline de 20 mètres dans le nord-est de l’île, ce phare de 75 mètres est caractérisé par ses couleurs (blanc et rouge) du drapeau tunisien. Avec une portée dépassant les 50 kilomètres, ce « phnar de Taguermess » comme les Djerbiens l’appellent, est le premier signe lumineux que les marins venant de l’orient et se dirigeaient vers les cotes du Maghreb observaient. On y trouve à proximité:

Djerba Explore.

Le musée Lalla Hadria.

Citizen59 [CC BY]
Borj Kastil Djerba

Construit au XIIIe siècle par Roger Lorie, Amiral du nord de Sicile. Ce fort est situé dans la partie sud de l’île à l’extrémité de la presqu'île Bine El Ouediane.

Vidéo YouTube 6.38min.

Vidéo vimeo 5.21min.

El Golli Mohamed [CC BY-SA]
Borj Jilij Djerba

C'est le premier phare de l’île, à 12km de la ville de Mellita, il est construit au XVIe siècle sur les traces d’un ancien fort Espagnol « la Tour de Valgarnera ». Le système d’éclairage de ce phare été à base de l’huile d’olive. Ce phare fut installé pour faciliter la navigation maritime comme dans toutes les îles de la méditerranée, pour aider les pêcheurs la nuit, lorsque le ciel est couvert, à se repérer et pour surveiller l’île contre les invasions ennemies. A l’Est de ce phare un fort a été construit par Ali Bacha Bey en 1745 et achevé par Hamouda Bey en 1795.

Phare Aghir Djerba

Situé à l'est de la chaussée romaine. On y trouve à proximité:

Le site archéologique Meninx.

Borj El Kastil Djerba.

Kuarigama [CC BY-SA]
Borj Ajim Djerba

Le Borj d'Ajim est situé dans la pointe sud ouest de l'île. Sur la route reliant le port à la ville d'Ajim. Sur la partie droite de cette route on peut remarquer un fort dont les murs ont une forme carrés et ne dépassent pas les 6 mètres de haut. Ce fort est appelé aussi «Borj el mersa» (fort du port). Ce fort été utilisé pour défendre et protéger à la fois la principale entrée de l'île par le canal d'Ajim.

Borj El Agreb Djerba

Situé dans la pointe sud de l'île entre Ras Tarbila et El Kantara (La chaussée romaine). Avec une forme circulaire, il est entouré par la mer. Edifié par Dragut au XVIe siècle. Il est connu comme le fort aux scorpions suite à une légende qui raconte qu’un prince qui avait perdu tous ses enfants à cause des piqûres de scorpion, conduisit son dernier fils dans ce fort isolé. Mais un jour l’enfant reçut en présent une grappe de raisin dans laquelle se cachait un scorpion, ce qui a causé la mort de cet enfant. D’ou l’appellation de ce fort de Borj El Agreb (Fort du scorpion).

Autres monuments et sites de Djerba

Bourgou Djerba

Henchir Bourgou est un site archéologique tunisien situé à 2,5 kilomètres de la ville de Midoun, sur l'île de Djerba. Mesurant environ 700 mètres de rayon, son occupation remonte au IVe siècle av. J.-C.

Vidéo YouTube 1.39min.

Rais67 [CC BY-SA]
Chaussée Romaine Djerba

L'île est reliée du côté sud au continent par un pont de 7 kilomètres de long et environ 10 mètres de large. Ce dernier remonte à l'Antiquité romaine, voire à l'époque punique. Le pont est par la suite submergé par la mer puis coupé vers 1551, lors des conflits entre Dragut et les Espagnols, avant d'être enfin reconstruit lors de la seconde guerre mondiale. On y trouve à proximité:

A l'est: Le site archéologique Meninx.

A l'est: Borj El Kastil Djerba.

A l'ouest: Borj El Agreb Djerba.

Big [CC BY-SA]
Palais Ben Ayed Djerba

Construit au XVIIIe siècle par caïd Hamida Ben Ayed, riche homme politique et financier à l’époque des Bey husseïnite. Le château Ben Ayed est situé a Sedghiane autrefois capitale de l’île de Djerba. Malheureusement le château est en passe de devenir une ruine.

Vidéo YouTube 2.30min.

Ness cheikhali [CC BY-SA]
Menzel Djerbien

Un Menzel (arabe:« demeure »), est un type d’habitation typique de Djerba. Il se compose d’une parcelle agricole plantée de palmiers, d’oliviers, d’arbres fruitiers, de sorgho, de céréales ou de cultures maraîchères. Le Menzel est pourvu d'un ou plusieurs puits ou citernes destinés à l’irrigation des champs.

Une ou plusieurs unités d’habitation, le houch, s’organisent autour d’un patio central et comprennent des pièces couvertes de toits plats ou voûtés en forme de coupole. Il peut comporter un grenier, une écurie, une aire de battage (errayah), un atelier de tissage et une huilerie.

Le Menzel est également protégé par des haies (tabia) constituées de plantations d’agaves, d’aloès ou de figuiers de Barbarie. Une maquette est exposée au:

musée du patrimoine traditionnel de Djerba.

Les HOUCHS de DJERBA: Vidéo YouTube 11.39min.

Fondouk à Houmt Souk

L’étymologie italienne du terme « fondacco » dénote un genre de construction caractéristique des cités méditerranéennes et moyen orientales. Il est synonyme du mot égyptien « oukala » signifiant un établissement destiné à recevoir les négociants accompagnés de leurs marchandises et de leur bétail. Ceux de Houmt Souk passent pour des fondouks urbains qui ont commencé à pulluler autour de la méditerranée vers la fin du XVIe siècle. Les commerçants chrétiens, juifs et musulmans s'y réunissent pour s’approvisionner de sel, de fruits, d’huile, de la poterie et surtout des lainages. Les dépôts ainsi que les chambres à étage étaient surtout ombragés par des galeries à arcades, embrassant de tous les côtés un patio spacieux. On y trouve une citerne souterraine (pour la réception des eaux de pluie) et un puit (pour la lessive et les toilettes). A Djerba on dénombrait autrefois 25 fondouks.

Fondouk Jomni.

Bsghaier [CC BY-SA]
Atelier de tissage traditionnel a Djerba
Huilerie sous-terraine à Djerba

Vidéos Djerba

Djerba candidate à L'UNESCO

A voir aussi sur notre site

Kholkhal et Rihanna

Les musées de Djerba

Sirene Ulysse

Lieux à visiter à Djerba

Port d'Ajim

Djerba informations pratiques

N'hésitez pas à nous joindre

femme-reservation

RESERVER

femme-contact

CONTACTEZ NOUS